Press Releases

AGAHI Awards 2013 winners selected for Alfred Friendly Press/Daniel Pearl Journalism Fellowship

Islamabad (January 20, 2014 ): AGAHI Awards 2103 winners Zahid Gishkori and Kiran Nazish have been selected for the Alfred Friendly Press/Daniel Pearl Journalism Fellowship. Gishkori from Express Tribune and Kiran Nazish, a freelance journalist has been selected for the 2014 program.

President AGAHI, Ms. Puruesh Chaudhary congratulates both journalists for their achievement she said, it is an honor and recognition for their hard work. She said, “The Awards have created appreciation for good journalism in fifty different categories and I hope through this effort we promote quality content as well as healthy competition.”

Zahid-GishkoriZahid Gishkori won the Agahi Award 2013 for the category of Flood and Disaster Reporting. Gishkori has previously worked for INP, PPI, Pakistan Observer and The Nation besides undergoing a brief internship at Dawn.

Kiran Nazish who also won an Agahi Award 2013 for the category of Child Rights. Kiran Nazish is freelance writer with ten years of journalism experience, she previously has been associated with various news channels.Kiran Nazish

AGAHI Awards are the most prestigious journalism awards of Pakistan. The Awards have been organized in collaboration with leading press clubs, local and international media development institutions, regulatory authorities, civil society organizations, private sector and other stakeholders. Puruesh Chaudhary Founder & President, AGAHI and Amir Jahangir Chief Executive Officer, Mishal Pakistan founded these awards in 2012.

The Agahi Awards are an annual series of awards for journalism in Pakistan, developed under the umbrella of the Credibility Lab at Mishal for creating an appreciation methodology for ethical and quality content. The evaluation methodology and criteria of the awards have been designed on the pillars of Media Development Indicators of UNESCO, in collaboratiosn with the Center for International Media Ethics (CIME) and UNESCO headquarters in Paris. The Awards were inaugurated in March 2012 and have become the most prestigious awards for the journalism in Pakistan.

Leave a Comment