AGAHI Awards 2016 Mishal in Media

Submissions for Agahi Awards 2016 open

The Nation

September 19, 2016
Print: The Nation, National Page 03

Submissions for Agahi Awards 2016 open

MIRPUR (AJK)-Pakistan’s most prestigious annual journalism awards, the Agahi Awards 2016, have opened submissions for journalists from across the country including Azad Jammu Kashmir.

The Agahi Awards are planned to be held in December.

The journalists are encouraged to submit their best work from March 2015 to August 2016 for this year’s awards with a deadline for submission till November 1, 2016.

It has been the foremost media development initiative for the journalist community.

The awards have identified some of the most brilliant and professional journalists in the industry.

The awards winners have gradually progressed in their profession; where some have either reached a decision-making or leadership position in the industry or have received academic and scholarly excellence for “Shaping the Future of Journalism”.

These awards are an annual series of awards for journalism in Pakistan, created by Amir Jahangir, Young Global Leader (YGL) and Puruesh Chaudhry, Global Shaper of the World Economic Forum.

These are Pakistan’s first ever journalism awards, which include more than 30 categories and welcome submissions from print, radio, television and the internet. The awards were inaugurated on March 28th, 2012.

Agahi and Mishal Pakistan in collaboration with leading press clubs across the country, local and international development bodies, regulatory authorities and the private sector organise these awards annually.

The awards hold a great promise for the future of the information and knowledge industry in Pakistan and beyond.
This year, the Agahi Awards have created new journalism beats and categories to make journalism in Pakistan more diverse and inclusive.

The new categories have been included by critically analysing media discourse for the past 12 months.
The new categories are included to create appreciation for the key challenges and opportunities reported by the media.
The categories for this year are Agriculture, Business & Economy, Competitiveness, Entrepreneurship, CPEC, Creating Shared Value, Corporate Social Responsibility, Culture & Tourism, Anti-Corruption, Institutional Reforms, Governance, Open Government, Disasters and Catastrophe, Education, Water, Energy & Food Security, Climate Change, Foreign Policy, Foresight and Futures, Health, Eliminating Hidden Hunger, Human Rights, Innovation Journalism, Infotainment, Journalism for Peace, Rule of Law, Media Ethics, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Photo Journalism, Sexual and Reproductive Health Rights (SRHR), Sports, Vocational Training & Technical Education, Citizen Empowerment and Water Diplomacy.

The Agahi Awards 2016 have one of the most respected, reputable and globally recognised Jury Panel. It will assess the performance of journalists on a content evaluation criteria developed by Agahi in collaboration with the Centre for International Media Ethics (CIME).

Journalists can submit up to three submissions in each of the categories, irrespective of their medium of journalism through Agahi Awards’ website,

The deadline for these entries is November 1, 2016.

Published in The Nation newspaper on 19-Sep-2016

Leave a Comment